• Welcome to https://albinowners.net, the new home of Albin Owners Group!
• You will need to log in here, and you may want to bookmark this site. If you don't remember your password, use the I forgot my password link to reset it.
• All content has been transferred from our previous site.
Contact Us if you have any questions or notice a problem. If you're not receiving our email, include a phone number where we can text you.

Yanmar 6LP-STE Water Pump Rebuild

Engines, Electric, Plumbing, etc.

Moderator: Jeremyvmd

gfuller
First Mate
First Mate
Home Port: Portland, ME

Yanmar 6LP-STE Water Pump Rebuild

Post by gfuller »

I'm contributing my process and a few pics to the group as I have not found a ton of info out there on this process. Please bear in mind that I am not a mechanic, so my methodology and procedure here may be a bit off.

Background:

During the survey, it was noted that there was a water leak at the water pump. Of course, the owner said that it was most likely the $8 gasket between the manifold and the pump... Surprisingly this was not the case. Instead, the water was leaking drip by drip at the window between the impeller and gear side.
After doing a bit of research on BoatDiesel I found that this is quite common and most folks had swapped their pumps out for a rebuilt one or whatnot.

Digging into it:

I did this procedure last weekend. Fired up the boat with garden hose in strainer (barely keeping up at idle) and was able to pinpoint the leak for the first time.

The hoses and manifold came off very easily. The pump was a slightly different story as it used two studs and has to be convinced a bit to come out when those studs are in place. I forsee this being more of a pain when I got to re-assemble so I removed both studs and picked up some M10 - 1.25 X 30mm stainless bolts with lock washers for reinstallation.