• Welcome to https://albinowners.net, the new home of Albin Owners Group!
• You will need to log in here, and you may want to bookmark this site. If you don't remember your password, use the I forgot my password link to reset it.
• All content has been transferred from our previous site.
Contact Us if you have any questions or notice a problem. If you're not receiving our email, include a phone number where we can text you.

How do you access the engine on flush deck 28TE?

OldDemps
Gold Member
Gold Member
Home Port: San Francisco, CA.

How do you access the engine on flush deck 28TE?

Post by OldDemps »

I'm New to flush deck from engine box 28TE. I'm unclear as how to open engine compartment fully on flush deck? Do you completely remove helm chairs pedestal? Or just remove the helm chair from pedestal?

How do you remove pedestal? Does It unscrew from deck flange?

I raised my engine cover only about 2 ft before it hits steering wheel which only give me minimal access to yanmar.

How do you flush deck owners check your oil prior to departure? Thru quarter berth access? I usually check oil before every voyage on my old engine box.

Sounds like a stupid question but I'm unclear. Thx. Chris
Currently boatless
Prior owner of
SKOL -1975 Albin 25 #2240
JOKA -2006 Albin 28TE Flush Deck
JOKA - 2000 Albin 28TE Gatsby Ed.
furball
Gold Member
Gold Member
Home Port: Chester, Md

Re: How do you access the engine on flush deck 28TE?

Post by furball »

Removing the seat alone will get you half way there.
Unscrew the base from the deck mounting plate and the hatch will fully raise.
Bit of a pain but it's how it works.
John
Chief
2005 31TE
Cummins 450

Formerly,
Transition
2006 28TE
Yanmar 6LP
Russell
Gold Member
Gold Member
Home Port: Stuart, FL

Post by Russell »