• Welcome to https://albinowners.net, the new home of Albin Owners Group!
• You will need to log in here, and you may want to bookmark this site. If you don't remember your password, use the I forgot my password link to reset it.
• All content has been transferred from our previous site.
Contact Us if you have any questions or notice a problem. If you're not receiving our email, include a phone number where we can text you.

Boat stands for a 27 AC

Albin's "power cruisers"
hetek
Gold Member
Gold Member
Home Port: Southold, NY

Boat stands for a 27 AC

Post by hetek »

Hi All -

I'm in the market for some boat stands for my Albin 27, but could use some help.

I plan on having a hauler bring the boat to my house and set her on stands next to my garage. I have to supply the stands and blocking under the keel. Because this is my first year 'on the hard' with her, I am clueless as to what size to buy. Also, I'm sure the hauler does not want me to run off to the local marine supply store to buy them while he waits with my boat on his trailer.

What are the best sizes that suit the 27? Also, what kind of blocking under the keel would be best?

TYIA
Jon B.
Former owner of...
"Bunkie" - a 1984 A27FC
New owner of...
1977 A25 deLuxe - a work in progress
Fortunate
Gold Member
Gold Member
Home Port: Robinhood Marina, Georgetown, ME

Re: Boat stands for a 27 AC

Post by Fortunate »

I use 2 - 28"-46" motor boat stands for the stern and 2 - 35"-52" sailboat stands about 1/3 aft of the bow. Here are the links for the items @ Hamilton Marine.

http://store.hamiltonmarine.com/browse. ... ,5807.html
http://store.hamiltonmarine.com/browse. ... ,5815.html

As far as blocking, I use 12x12x2' just forward of the skeg mount and just aft of the keel rise about 1/3 aft of the bow. I add a 2" hardwood shim on top of the foward block to ensure I have positive drainage towards the stern.