• Welcome to https://albinowners.net, the new home of Albin Owners Group!
• You will need to log in here, and you may want to bookmark this site. If you don't remember your password, use the I forgot my password link to reset it.
• All content has been transferred from our previous site.
Contact Us if you have any questions or notice a problem. If you're not receiving our email, include a phone number where we can text you.

how many hours can you get out of a 4d61

Albin's "power cruisers"
Icculus
Gold Member
Gold Member
Home Port: Penetanguishine ontario

how many hours can you get out of a 4d61

Post by Icculus »

I am new to Albins having recently purchased hull 51 with the original 4d61 in it. This boat, which is in fine shape, has over 8600 original hours on the original motor. She starts like a champ, and we just did a 10 hour day on her last weekend through the locks from Orillia to Penetang (Ontario). Does anyone have any idea how many hours I can squeeze out of this motor? More importantly, can anyone tell me the signs I should be looking for that the motor is on her last legs? An oil analysis at 8000 hours came up clean. It took me two years to find this boat and I LOVE it! I will re-power when the time is right, but don't want to get stuck in the middle of Georgian Bay. Any tips or help would be appreciated.
AUL27151C484
kerrye
Gold Member
Gold Member
Home Port: Denver

Re: how many hours can you get out of a 4d61

Post by kerrye »

I'm pretty sure those 4d61's are still being rebuilt. There was a thread with info on it recently. But the solution to your middle of Georgian Bay problem is to put an outboard on a drop down bracket on the stern, then you can always get home.
kerrye
Gold Member
Gold Member
Home Port: Denver

Post by kerrye »

Beta Don
Gold Member
Gold Member
Home Port: Biloxi MS

Post by Beta Don »